Tuesday , January 18 2022

A vast Canadian tournament, divided into five leagues in five groups


The Canadian Championship will open with 13 teams, scheduled for the next 24th of May, starting on May 15th and ending with a two-legged final on September 18th and 25th, Canadian Football Championship was announced on Thursday.

This year's five-round competition will consist of five major League Soccer, United Soccer Leagues, Canadian Premier League, Québec Football League Contest (PLSQ) and League1 Ontario.

The winner wins the Voyageurs Cup and won the Canadian Lasai Mattress in the 2020 Concacaf Champions League.

"The Canadian Championship has become a domestic cup competition, one of the highest levels of entry to secure the coveted Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League spot," said President of Canada Football, Steven Reed. "We are proud to invite the seven teams to take the first League 1 Ontario and the First Canadian Premier League to participate.

The Montreal Impact, Vancouver Whitecaps FC and Ottawa Fury FC will enter into the third qualifying competition that will take place on July 10 and 24 at the Premier League in Canada – FC Edmonton, Forge FC, Valor FC, Cavalry FC, HFX Wanderers FC, Pacific FC and York9 FC; AS Blainville League Leader of Quebec Football League and Vaughan Azzurri.

Each round will be played as a two-legged series by specifying the winners. It will be new to 2019, it will not be after the extra-ordinary one after a leg. The matches will go straight to punishment at that moment.

Three round tables will be held on May 15 and 22, June 5 and 12 and July 10 and 24. The foreign champion Toronto FC will participate next 7th and 14th of August. TFC has won Whitecaps, a total of 7 -4, in August, to win the seventh title and in the third row.

Source link